This is just wrong

For this to still be allowed to happen in Scotland in this day and age is a disgrace in my opinion. Scottish Power debt enforcers have been caught on camera breaking into a woman’s flat seeking payment for debts she did not owe.

I thought that this type of debt collection was a thing of the past in Scotland but how wrong I was, basically can debt collectors come to your house in Scotland? The answer, in short, is yes, they can. It’s important to recognise, however, that debt collectors have no legal power to enter your home or force repayment, and are bound by strict regulations to prevent them from harassing, intimidating, or threatening you.

Scottish Power in this case admitted that they were in the wrong and the tenant received a letter in which Scottish Power admitted the error after contacting the CEO’s office.

It states: “I sincerely apologised that we had attended the wrong address and I confirmed that your daughter’s property was supplied by SSE.

“In view of the upset caused, I offered your daughter £500 as a gesture of goodwill and advised you that we were continuing to investigate which flat we do supply, your daughters’ details were removed from our system.”

That people can be harassed by men turning up at their door, and breaking into their house in Scotland in this day and age for any debt let alone an energy debt should make us all ashamed. This is draconian at best and a disgrace, the Scottish Government should be making sure that this can never happen. It is up for the Courts to decide what should happen regarding debt, not a company sending what must feel like thugs to people who are no doubt in many cases already vulnerable enough. Some times I am just embarrassed and ashamed by this country.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This is just wrong

  1. Just WRONG!!

    We used to read dreadful – but real stories from many, many years ago… Never expecting to learn of what is “just wrong” in Scotland in this day and age! ~ Almost incredible, yet it IS TRUE!

  2. Brian says:

    Who are The Scottish Power enforcers who broke in?
    Name them and shame them.
    Have they been charged with breaking and entering?
    £500 is derisory.

  3. Black Rab says:

    We still live in the dark ages along with the rest of the world.

  4. trispw says:

    As I understand it it is illegal to do that.

    I was advised by a solicitor that if the goons from Crapita TV licencing turned up wanting to enter my house, that I should tell them to go away and get a police officer or sheriff officer to accompany them.

    The person involved should go to the police, armed with the letter of apology and the offer of £500 which, in my view, is derisory. £5,000 would be nearer it for the incredible upset and harm they have done.

    • Tris

      That’s what I thought but either way it is disgusting that this is still going on in this day and age. That is something the Scottish Government should be legislating against for sure. Debt is bad enough without that, it’s for the courts to decide in my opinion.

      Thanks for commenting.
      Bruce

      • trispw says:

        As far as I can make out, it is legislated against, Bruce, which is why she should sue the butt off the company.

        I know that sometimes English companies don’t realise that the law is different here. I’ve had that problem with car parking, where in Scotland the only people who can fine you for parking are the police or local authorities, but some UK-wide car parks operating under English regulations try it on (until one of my solicitor’s letters wings its way to them).

        I suspect it has always been like this. I don’t think it was a Scottish government change, either the current or previous administrations.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.