Getting Older is a Paradox

Grumpy Scottish Man – kinda gives it away, but recently I have been thinking about getting older, the contradiction of it, the fact that it is a bit of a paradox, not so much about mortality, or legacy, but I suppose they are in there somewhere.

I am 55 years old, not too old by today’s standards in many ways, and in colony Scotland I may even be bucking the trend in some ways as I am still active, I still care about stuff, I am still basically healthy, some days I even approach happy.

Yeah, the joints ache some days, patience for certain things is a hell of a lot less, just bought my first orthopaedic pillow, work is more a means to an end than a desire or a vocation any more, relationships are tough, but I still want to get laid, so I am not dead, yet lol. Although being single again kinda makes some of that more difficult to achieve.

I find that my interest in Politics is decreasing as time goes on, not because the SNP are useless, that Holyrood has descended into a pit of mediacracy at best, with all the added stupidity and wokeness that devolved responsibilities become when you lack the real decision-making powers to make a difference because you are a colony of England. I find that the standard of politician is so low now that it is no wonder that our colony, let alone the rest of the colonies governed by the English parliament are a mess, nothing works because the people we send to Holyrood, and Westminster, are pretty much as thick as shit, as trustworthy as a mafia boss, or a banker, are the very people we should never allow managing a jumble sale let alone the things we depend on. That isn’t even touching on their honesty, no wonder my days of voting are pretty much at an end.

I am trapped in the 80s as far as Music is concerned with rock and pop, Duran Duran and Rainbow still being my favourite two, although I do like Lewis Capaldi, and Elizabeth Crompton so not all is lost I suppose. I can’t be bothered all that much with TV now as let’s face it, it is shit. From being an avid political show watcher, I now only watch the Prism because the rest are so bad presented by people with less integrity than a Tory, and even less journalistic skills than a 5-year-old. Movies are no different, pretty much. Too many are blood and horror for the sake of it, big tits, or up their own arse like Oppenheimer, so who wants to waste the time on them.

Football in the main has become the sport of millionaires, and other than the mighty Dundee Football Club I can’t really be bothered. Scottish Football is still dominated by the two ugly sisters, Celtic and Rangers (2112), run by people who pander to the ugly sisters, reported on by bias ex ugly sister players or fans, and reported on by unionist toilet papers that you wouldn’t wipe your arse on. International football, who cares, we are a colony and the idea of Scotland in any national sport is just an illusion as fake as our democracy is.

But it is not all bad, I take pleasure in my morning walks, and the photos I take. Dumping Twitter has been good for me, less toxic in your life is a good thing, my ambition now is for my 3 children to be fine, to be healthy, happy, and successful. Of course, I still want to end our colonial status, I just don’t see it happening in my lifetime. Again while blogging has become less of a daily thing for myself I still like to share my thoughts, my ideas, and all the other shit that I share no matter if anyone reads or comments on it.

So at the end of the day, it could be worse.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting Older is a Paradox

  1. alanc51 says:

    ‘still like to share my thoughts, my ideas, and all the other shit that I share no matter if anyone reads or comments on it’ I always read but don’t always comment, as for getting old! Man I wish I was 55 again.

    • Alan

      I know quiet a few read the blog surprisingly, I am flattered to be honest as it really is just my rants, opinions, often ill informed but it does keep me sane in someways as I do believe that when we share what we think, even the yoons, we learn, we make things clearer, but as I get older I do find myself becoming more entrenched and impatient lol.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Bruce

  2. GM says:

    It’s a good blog. I like reading it.

    Dundee top 6. Good effort from the Squad.

    • GM

      Very kind of you to say that. I don’t get the top 6 thing, really. I watched the game yesterday, and it was good to see the team see out a result, they probably should have won to be fair. Still not convinced they need to make as many subbies as they do to be honest but I am no expert. I would prefer to see a larger league and play each other twice, it would make games against Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen bigger if you know they are only coming to Dens once a season in the league. It would also allow clubs like Partick, Dunfermline to get back in the league and build but TV rules, and self-interest with added greed keeps the league a league of two then the rest.

      Thanks for commenting.
      Bruce

      • GM says:

        Cheers Bruce. Broadly agree with your points.

        Most of all I want to see young Scottish players come through and flourish earn a decent living at the game and stay local.

        We need a different model from the big corrupt footballing countries. It’s just blatant, in your face money laundering by elites supported by the footballing authorities who are all on the take.

        • GM

          Totally agree. I really hope to see Max Anderson next season with Robertson, Cameron, Mulligan if we can keep them. Hope Kerr doesn’t get moved in either as local players make it worth attending, Dees won’t win the league only the ugly sisters will do that so we need a reason to keep attending and that is local players.

          Thanks for commenting.
          Bruce

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.