Something Different: Some Compilation Albums

Axe Attack (1980)

This album came out in 1980 and was one of my first really serious play albums. I think it was my older brother who bought this album for me. A lot of really great rock tracks on the album from Rainbow All Night Long, UFO Doctor Doctor, AC/DC Highway To hell, Girlschool Race With The Devil to Iron Maiden Running Free and Motorhead Bomber. I played this album nonstop to the extent that I think my parents hated it.

REO Speedwagon Best Foot Forward (1985)

Some bands are singles bands, well for me anyway. This is an album I play a few times a year and if it was a one off studio album it would have been amazing. I can’t think of a poor song on this compilation of their early singles. Songs like Keep On Loving You, Roll With It, Time For Me To Fly, I Wish You Were There and Take It On The Run are all gems. If you haven’t listened to this album then you should, a really great album.

Pat Benatar Best Shots (1989)

Another artist who made some great rock songs and possibly the first female artist I liked who made the charts but one that I found was weaker on the album front. This is a great album that I still play today off and on and includes gems like Hit Me With Your Best Shot, Sex as a Weapon, Shadows of the Night, Invincible, Fire and Ice, and We belong. Again well worth a listen.

Queen Greatest Hits (1981)


Came out in 1981 and another Christmas vinyl from my brother. We all know that Queen were one of the biggest bands on the planet who made huge hits but again were another weak albums band for me. This album I think got played constantly for a while as there are just brilliant singles on this album from We Will Rock You, Don’t Stop Me Now, Now I’m Here, Killer Queen, You’re My Best Friend to Bohemian Rhapsody. I used to like We Are The Champions until it was played over the tannoy at Dens when Dundee Utd won the league and have just hated it ever since being a Dundee FC fan.

Now That’s What I Call Music (1983)

There had been Top Of The Pops compilation albums but there had never been a compilation album with all of the hits of the day on it and this was huge at the time. I remember buying the album as there were songs I liked by a variety of artists but didn’t want to have to buy their singles or albums to get the songs and the radio dj’s in the 80s always talked over the songs that you were trying to record from the radio on cassette lol. There are some really good songs on this album like Temptation Heaven 17, Down Under Men At Work, Wherever I Lay My Hat Paul Young, New Song Howard Jones to Victims Culture Club.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Different: Some Compilation Albums

  1. Brian says:

    “American Heartbeat” introduced me to Journey, Boston, Foreigner (and REOS) and other great bands that I still love.
    They are sneered at now, of course, but between them have sold hundreds of millions of albums.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.