Time for this Bollocks to end!

I was watching a bit of the proceedings from Westminster today and it just hit home how much our so called democracy is broken. MPs were having to swear their oath to the Queen:

I (name of Member) swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, her heirs and successors, according to law. So help me God.

Members of Parliament, elected by their constituents, you know the people, who refuse to take the oath to the unelected head of state are barred from participating in any proceedings, and from receiving their salaries. They can also be fined and have their seat, you know the one which they were elected to, be declared vacant if they don’t swear their undying love to the unelected head of state.

In 2017 it is an absolute joke that we still persist with this nonsense. Every single MP entering Parliament, if there must be an oath, should have to swear it to the people, anything less is a travesty in this day and age.

The Queen is a constitutional monarch, but both the Queen and her family often influence our Government and have access to Ministers that we can only dream of. The Queens Tax affairs are kept private, as is her wealth. The Royal Family do pay some tax but can take off all expenses before they do so. How much fun would that be for us poor peasants in the gutter. The guidance for the Queen goes something like this, the Sovereign has no legal liability to pay such taxes. The Duchy of Cornwall has a Crown exemption and the Prince of Wales is not legally liable to pay income tax on Duchy revenues. A “Memorandum of Understanding on Royal Taxation” was published on 5 February 1993 and amended in 1996, 2009 and 2013.

The Queen already costs us around £46,000,000 (46 MILLION POUNDS a year). For what, opening a hospital in Glasgow, paid for by us but that the good and greedy decide to put her name on. The Queen’s total income for 2015-16 was £54m, comprising £40.1m from the taxpayer and £13.9m generated from property rental and charges for using royal buildings and facilities for functions. I don’t think Elizabeth Windsor is going to find it hard to heat her homes or have to go to a food bank.

It’s 2017 F F S.

It’s high time that this medieval nonsense was stopped. The Head of State should be elected by you and me, this would end some of the kowtowing and superior privilege bollocks. There is no truth to the lies that the monarchy are good for tourism, it’s a Disney movie. The Queen has no power, yeah right and that she unifies the country. It’s all rubbish and it’s wrong that the people we sent to represent us at Westminster swear an oath to the Queen and all her hangers and not to the people, it has got to stop.

13 comments

  1. trispw

    100 %. Can’t add anything, just get rid of them. Pension them off.

    And definitely, there should NOT be an oath of allegiance to a person no matter how blue her blood.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Tris

      I had to turn it off as it’s a bloody nonsense in this day and age. The horror in London today, which allegedly many Tory MPs voted to block the human habitation legislation just shows up the home that is this country. We can’t make homes safe but hey let’s get the minsters swear and oath to the Queen, the plebs can swear their oath next week.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. Stan Wilson

    I have signed a petition to the effect that all MPs should pledge allegiance to the people, not the Queen or her offspring. I also don’t see why we (in Scotland) should pay for the Queen of England, let her own country pay for her upkeep. Our share can be used to help those in need here in Scotland.

    • Anonymous

      Stan
      I agree that no MP should have to swear an oath to anyone other than the people but I think the Queen is also deemed Queen of the UK due to the Union of the Crowns as far as I understand it. I think many in England see her as Queen of England but I have never heard her referred to as Queen of Scotland, either way it is an absolute absurdity in this day and age that we still have this system on the go. I would rather have a head of state who is elected or just have the speaker or president officer of the parliament play that role. I could not care less if the Windsor’s open a hospital or visit a school, it’s all designed to keep the lower orders in their place. I appreciate the SNP don’t see or as a priority but they are just playing it down, in an independent Scotland I would imagine that would go very quickly.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  3. 100%YES

    I swear to stand by Scotland and all Scots that support her and to oppose all that would harm Scotland or her citizens from now til the day I die so help me God.

    • Anonymous

      100%YES
      I don’t think I would have an oath at all, just something in their contract of employment stating what their role is and the standards they are supposed to meet. It is just a job after all like any other job. I would also remove God from any mention, I am a Christian but I would separate that from politics if I could, I would separate all faiths from it.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  4. Finnmacollie

    They could always try crossing their fingers behind their back and saying “So help ma Boab”

    • Anonymous

      Finn

      Lol, I just wouldn’t have an oath at all if I had my way. For me it’s all designed to keep the lower orders at the bottom and the minority at the top, it’s all shit if you ask me.

      Thanks for commenting.
      Bruce

  5. Anonymous

    they are only fined or seat declared vacant if they attempt to vote having not sworn the oath or affirmed allegiance, would be good if you used all the facts.

Leave a Reply

