Something Different: The Smart Fortwo


I recently had to decide to get rid of my Ford Ka, it had come to the end of its usefulness sadly. I decided that I would try and find an affordable Smart Car, I have always wanted one for lots of different reasons. 

I have had my second hand one for a week now. I must admit that while the semi auto gear system is not the best, fuel economy could be better in the City it is a fun car to have. The seating position is high, it is very nippy if you put the foot down and easy to park. 

You do get looked at driving one which is a little strange and people do want to ask questions about it. Road tax is cheap at £30 per year and insurance was fine. Overall I am happy with the car and it looks great while not being a huge drain on the environment. 

4 comments

  1. Helena Brown

    Hi Bruce, we had until last year the Japanese equivalent in the IQ. We loved that car and I know Grouse Beater is also an aficionado of the Smart. I hope you have many happy miles with your new car. We sadly moved on to the Yaris Hybrid, a but more room for carting the dug and all the rubbish to the tip.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Helena
      I thought about the IQ but couldn’t find one I could afford to be honest. I like the Smart but the semi auto gearbox is taking some time to get used to but I knew that going in given all the owner reviews I read but it is fun so far. It’s small which I like, environmentally a bit more friendly in some ways and I always wanted one.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. Lanark

    I hope you enjoy your Smart. I have always liked the character and honesty of a small car. It’s always a bit of a mystery to me why so many people choose to drive what are more or less diesel powered lorries these days.

    • Anonymous

      Lanark
      I really like it although the gearbox is a bit of a mystery at times regarding when it wants to go down, I’ll get used to it. I also don’t get the huge car thing, esp in cities. I see people at the supermarket and they are driving tanks, people at work too and I just don’t get it. I don’t really like having to have a car, it is for work as my wife has one but I thought this time if I must have one I will try and get one that is less damaging and more economical, I think the Smart sits in the middle of that to be honest.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

