Right or Wrong

At around 4am this morning  President Donald Trump ordered the bombing of Syria in retaliation at the gas attack by Assad forces on his own people earlier this week. 


Was he right or wrong? I think there is no debate that Assads forces carried out the gas attack. I also think that the murder of children by a chemical weapon is a war crime. When Assad did this 2 years ago, President Obama warned them there would be consequences, and did nothing, that made America look weak and was two fingers up to the world. 

President Trump deciding to act, without UN consent, has probably opened up a can of worms but to be honest I have sympathy for his actions. War should be a last resort but do we sit on our hands when a dictator uses a chemical weapon against children. I don’t think we can. 

This afternoon there has been an attack in Stockholm Sweden, people have been killed and my heart goes out to Sweden. What a sorry place the world has become in so many ways. Are we on the brink of a major conflict, I have heard older people say they think things are similar to a long time ago, I hope not but I am starting to think that things are going to come to a head. 

Was Trump correct last night, from what I understand, I think he was if its proved or likely that Assad did this, as I said I have sympathy with the decision but it probably won’t make things better. 

20 comments

  1. bjsalba

    I am not at all convinced that Assad’s forces did it. Assad is not a stupid man and with someone as unpredictable as Trump to commit such an act was, to say the least, risky.

    • grumpyscottishman

      bjsalba
      I agree that it was risky, any such move always is and I am glad the UK were not involved, the UN security council are saying that it was Assad forces that attacked. I tend to err on the side of caution but the EU are saying Assad also, I think they were all caught by surprise that Donald Trump made a move so quickly after giving them a warning ahead of the attack. Things feel weird right now, it’s like someone is pushing for a wider conflict and heaven help us all if someone attacks Israel.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. Kangaroo

    There are a number of well respected commentators suggesting that Assad did not do it.
    See zerohedge.com. I tend to agree, why would Assad do such a thing when he has ISIS on the run. It does not make sense. The ones who benefit are the neocons and ISIS.

    • Anonymous

      Kangaroo

      I read some and Craig Murray, totally wouldn’t trust the media but there is something about this that makes me think he did. He appears to feel untouchable with Russian support and Obama not doing anything the last time. Countries like Germany are saying his forces did and I have a lot of time for Merkel and Germany just don’t take risks in foreign policy. It will be interesting to see if there is more to it.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  3. Alan

    Yeah, I thought Saddam just HAD to have nukes in 2003 too. It turns out that wasn’t the case. I’m not convicted that Assad’s forces were using chemical weapons – I got the impression over the past few weeks that they’d made some progress and ISIS’ rise has been stalled for a year or two. Not sure about the other rebel factions. All things considered, it’s more likely that a losing faction decided they had nothing to lose and used it. Assad isn’t stupid; he would know deploying chemical weapons risks undoing any gains made.

    Syria isn’t going to be fixed by more bombs. What it needs is a Berlin Airlift – start chucking water, food and medicine out of the planes instead of bombs. But no, it suits the American military-industrial complex to keep bombing Syria. They make $1.5 million for each cruise missile used. $100,000 for each hellfire missile. It’s a sick joke.

    • Anonymous

      Alan

      I totally see where you are coming from, and many others, and did not write the blog lightly. I wrote it after trolling the net and watching RT and Euronews for hours.

      I can’t see how the rebels could have launched a chemical attack from the air, the observers in the hospitals etc have all said it was launched from the air, the airspace is also policed by Russian and American fighters, the attack happened mainly in the Russian and Syrian zone. There are a lot of things that don’t make sense but war never does. Really happy to be proved wrong, no issue with that at all. I also agree we should be getting food, water and medical supplies in and that has been a discussion on the news, what I found interesting was one of the people fighting Assad asking if they can’t get food in how did anyone get the chemicals to make such a weapon, good question.

      I hope things become clearer, happy to be proved wrong that’s why the blog is titled as it is and why I said I had sympathy with if it’s shown Assad did this or his forces did.

      I must admit I never thought Saddam had weapons of mass destruction given that his forces were decimated in the first war, Assads forces haven’t been and have been protected by the Russians so who knows what was destroyed after the first chemical attack and what wasn’t. I also take on board it doesn’t make sense for Assad to do this, totally accept that argument, but I also accept that worse people than Assad have done things to their own people over the years that did not make sense , Assad I believe will do anything to stay in power and I do think he thinks he’s is untouchable due to the protection of the Russians. If the Russians are so benevolent why have they not arrested him for war crimes against humanity as he will be the moment he steps foot out of Syria. There is a lot going on here.

      Thanks for the food for thought and expressing your opinion. I will try and keep abreast of things like we all will, either way and who ever is guilty, it’s horrible. I don’t like war and do believe there needs to be talks. I didn’t even have toy guns as a kid growing up with a Dad who fought through the whole of ww2 and who detested aggression but I have no issue with Assads planes being hit I really don’t, esp if it’s shown he did it.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

      • Alan

        Fair points. I’m willing to concede it WAS Assad’s forces. It’s just that Syria is such a quagmire that there’s no way to be sure who did it, short of quite a lot of video footage of the actual deployment of the chemicals. I can’t find that, if it exists it’s buried by the aftermath videos showing what happened to the people near ground zero.

        https://www.hrw.org/news/2017/02/13/syria-coordinated-chemical-attacks-aleppo

        See what I mean? None of that footage actually shows a Syrian Air Force helicopter(or at least a model known to be in use by them) carrying or releasing one of those yellow canisters. It shows green smoke being released, but not what released it or how that got there.

        • grumpyscottishman

          Alan
          You are correct the situation is a total mess and there are people on both sides saying it was Assad and others saying it was not. Merkel is saying it was and I must admit I have some time for her. I don;t trust the Americans, Russians or the UK to know a truth if it slapped them in the face. I’ll check out the clip but I can’t remember ever seeing anything concrete from the first attack either. Hopefully they will get to the bottom of it, as I said earlier it has opened a can of worms, esp for the Americans who might now have to follow it up but I hope not. The middle east is a mess, whose to blame is anyone’s guess but we haven’t helped trying to enforce our morals onto culture’s that have many different ones based on their cultural norms. I noticed that Iran are condemning the attack as they also support Assad. My fear I think is that someone makes a move against Saudi or Israel and that would definitely get the UK involved no matter what the public felt, it feels like it is building towards something horrible.

          Thanks for commenting.

          bruce

  4. Anonymous

    I share many of your posts to FB .. This one blew me away though , I wasn’t expecting you to agree that Trump was right to send in the bombs .. You are a warmonger . You like to see bombs dropped on civilian areas ??? You just lost any respect I had for you i’m afraid. Read the latest blog by Craig Murray , maybe that will set you straight.

    • Anonymous

      Anon

      No I would never consider myself a warmonger and as far as I can see from RT news, no friend of America , no bombs landed outside of the airbase. I did read Craig blog and as usual it was very good and very informative as have been many others. I also read comments coming out of the EU, again no friend of America, and in particular Germany who do not take foreign policy lightly, so I would say that the stronger feeling appears to be that Assad forces did this, he might not have even known but he has a history of it.

      Given that the gas attack came from the air, as the observers in Syria have confirmed, where did the rebels get an aircraft in an area policed in the air by both Russian and American fighters, how did they get the chemicals in an area that can’t even get food and water.

      There may well be more to it than first meets the eye and I accept that, I also didn’t say I agreed I said I had sympathy with, very different things. I have also chatted to friends who have some experience of situations in their own countries who also think that Assad would do this as they have seen similar things in their countries. Happy to be proved wrong , hence the question right or wrong? The blog was / is a discussion. I suppose my point is if Assad did this then I have every sympathy for America hitting the base where he keeps his fighters.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

        • Anonymous

          Anon

          It still appears unclear so who knows, please feel free to challenge my assertions in the blog anytime it’s how I learn and talk is good, if only more people did it.

          Thanks for commenting.

          Bruce

  5. billy

    i am not sure if this was a staged event or not isis is able to commit acts like this eg usining artillery/rocket shells with proximity fuses used since ww2 for airbursts.
    just seems to conveniant russians warned about airstrike easliy fly out syrian;russin planes hence not a lot of planes destroyed.
    isis always good at proaganda trump reacts to social media images not the sharpest tool in the box

    • grumpyscottishman

      Billy
      I don’t know if Trump is smart or not to be honest, but definitely unpredictable and reactionary for sure. I didn’t know that Isis had that type of weapon in Syria, so who knows, they are capable of anything as we know, disgusting people. There is no doubt more to it than we know and it may take months to find out, it’s all just a mess but like you I find some aspects very convenient to say the least and while I totally respect Craig Murray, some of the others and some respondents on here who either don’t think it was Assad or as Craig Murray noted is not sure I just would not put it past him at all, Russia have made him feel safe I suspect. Hopefully it will all become clearer.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  6. Brian

    I too am disappointed by your comments. Where I come from we expect absolute proof before anyone sends in Cruise missiles. See the Peter Ford interview – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2vvJslaDJms.
    Several respected sources reported over 100 civilian deaths in Syria and Iraq in the previous month due to indiscrimate bombing by the US led military coalition. Where was the outcry in western media/politics? I appreciate children died agonising deaths due to these chemical explosions, but is that now how we make a judgement? It has to be a horrible death before we condemn?

    • Anonymous

      Brian

      I blogged and my comments say ” if it turns out to be true “. I have also commented on many blogs about these type of crimes, just the first time I have actually blogged about it. I am also married to an African and have friends from Somalia, Nigeria and have heard enough stories to make your toes curl so no I am not jumping on a bandwagon or leading to BBC type conclusions.

      I watched hours of news and read lots of blogs and I can’t see any way this wasn’t Assad or at least linked to him, if true I can understand why America would bomb. It won’t help but I have sympathy for their position. The Germans, who never jump to foreign policy conclusions quickly or take risks are saying Assad and I have a lot of time for Merkel.

      The big disappointment has to be the lack of action by the UN, there has to be a way to make those type of attaxks more difficult, anywhere in the world, and I sympathise that firing cruise missiles won’t help, but what do we do. I also appreciate the cultural differences and we should not attemp to impose our cultural norms on other societies but where does it stop. I don’t know.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. I hope I have made where I am coming from a little clearer.

      Bruce

      • Brian

        Thanks Bruce for your comments. I respect your point of view.
        I will say this though…
        1. Bypassing the UN is a dangerous precedent.
        2. I cannot for the life of me understand why the western world condemns this “chemical attack”, but is happy to stand back while US airstrikes in Syria and Iraq kill hundreds of innocent civilians. What am I missing?

        • grumpyscottishman

          Brian

          I heard the UN point this morning and to be honest I hadn’t considered it, didn’t that happen with Blair and Bush? So I totally take on your point there and I don’t understand the hypocrisy of the media. Just look at how the Nigerian Girls, still missing, are not news. How Yemen is not news, even Sweden hasn’t had much coverage here, just shows you how fickle they are but saying that I avoid BBC / Sky / Fox etc at all costs and tend to watch Channel 4 / ITV (sometimes) RT and Euronews. Whatever the truth turns out to be thought there are no winners only losers and that will no doubt be joe bloggs who are always the victims of these nutters and Governments hell bent on having their wars.

          Thanks for commenting.

          Bruce

Leave a Reply

