Something Different: Rediscovering Out of Time

I have been changing the music on my 16 year old Ipod Classic and decided to put REM back on. I hadn’t listened to any of their albums for a while and the one that really stands out for me is Out of Time.

This album came out around 1991, and was their 7th album, but the first time I had really come across the band. Losing my Religion was probably the biggest hit from the album, and the song I would say I enjoy the most. The song is often mis-understood in that it was about losing faith, but it was not faith in a God, but faith in another person. It was about relationships, and is a term used in the area where the band grew up, when it first came out as a single I thought that it was about losing faith in God and decided to find out more about what the song was really about.

The album is a very strong one though with classics like Near Wild Heaven, Shiny Happy People, Half a World Away, which I love, and Low. If you haven’t heard the album or haven’t played it for a while it is worth a visit.

Leave a Reply

