Something Different: Sc-Fi Movies

Last weekend I had a wee look at some of the Sci-Fi TV shows I liked so thought this weekend I would look at some of the Sci-Fi Movies I have liked over the years. In no real particular order.

The Black Hole

the_black_hole_poster_2

The first real sci-fi movie I got into and for a Disney movie it had a dark side, although I didn’t really understand that at the time. Basically a group of astronauts returning home to Earth after a long mission find a missing spacecraft orbiting a black hole. The ship is controlled by a scientist and a brutal robot who have lobotomised all of the crew and turned them into a mindless crew. The story becomes a battle for survival with a funny robot. Overall a decent sci-fi movie and often forgotten.

Star Wars The Empire Strikes Back

star-wars

Most sci-fi fans will like or love Star Wars. I am a fan of the first 3 but my favourite is Empire Strikes Back. Again a darker film with a more developed story and I think the best of all of the Star Wars films overall. The prequels weren’t that great, would have been better without a lot of the poor acting, esp from Hayden Christenson (Darth Vader), and a love story that made little sense. The Force Awakens I thought was ok but not great. Haven’t seen Rouge One yet.

The Thing

thing

A remake of The Thing from Another World by John Carpenter and it was a really good film with fantastic special effects for it’s time. Kurt Russell is really good. The film is about an organism that infects humans and changes them into other things, horrid things and if it got out into the world would destroy it in a matter of weeks. Good film.

They Live

live

Aliens disguised as humans slowly taking over the world. You can only see the aliens with specials sunglasses. More a tongue in cheek movie and screaming out for a remake but overall I enjoyed this a great deal and another John Carpenter film.

Aliens

aliens

The sequel to Alien and a more action packed movie than the first one and one that I enjoyed more due to that. Aliens 3 and 4 were poor but Aliens was and is a classic in the modern sense and I continue to enjoy it today. Ripley goes back to the planet in the original after finding out that it has been colonised and has lost contact with Earth. Possibly the scariest monster in any sci-fi movie even now. It’s a pretty scary movie in some ways.

Superman

superman

Cheese fest in the extreme but a classic all the same. I didn’t see it when it first came out but a brilliant film all the same. Gene Hackman, Marlon Brando, two of the best actors ever. The special effects weren’t great and the story silly but just a lot of fun overall. I wasn’t a huge fan of the sequels at all and the remakes have been ok but you can’t really see past the original.

Star Trek

star-trek

When I heard this was going to be rebooted I thought how are they going to pull it off and have it make sense to the original but they did. The story was very strong and tied in with the original really well, Simon Pegg is brilliant in it and the special effects are brilliant. The actors pulled it off really well and in some ways better.

Ghostbusters

ghostbusters

Love this film and the sequel was also very good. It’s just silly enough and Dan Akroyd and Bill Murray steal the show. I haven’t seen the reboot, and don’t really want to at all, but when this is on I can watch every time.

I am going to finish my list with this one:

Star Trek The Motion Picture

star-trek-2

I appreciate this wouldn’t be on many people’s list, I appreciate that it doesn’t have the strongest story but it was epic. For me this was more epic than Star Wars, it has a lot of faults but when you see the ship, the characters slowly coming together it was big. I have watched this a lot of times and it is up there as one of my favs, no doubt about that.

I hope you have enjoyed my little list. I know it doesn’t have Blade Runner, Terminator, Close Encounters, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Serenity, Starship Troopers, the list goes on and mines is not a list of the best sci-fi movies just ones I like.

2 comments

  1. lanark

    I agree with you on The Black Hole, an underrated film and a forgotten classic. If made today, it would probably be followed by naff sequels.

    The Thing is another great film. Aliens too. Hackman’s Lex Luthor is one of the best cinema villains.

    Good call on the Star Trek movie, although after the Wrath of Khan the sequels went downhill.

    • grumpyscottishman

      lanark

      They are remaking the Black Hole but no release date and are saying it will be as dark as the first one, doubt they will improve on it though. Star Trek The Motion Picture in my opinion is underrated, lost out to Star Wars but still a lot to like about it.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

