Something Different: Sci-fi Shows

I like Sci-Fi, not a devotee as many are, but I enjoy it from time to time. Here is a wee list of the ones I like.

Battlestar Galactica Remake

galactica

While the story is similar to the original in many ways it got better with Cylons being human in look, as well as the robot kind. It was very dark in parts which I liked and the special effects were very good for a tv show. The first few series were excellent but then it all got a bit silly at the end, I know it’s sci-fi, but was a good remake.

Blake’s 7

b7

Old late 70’s/80’s BBC show that was about a group of rebels fighting against the Federation. Pretty decent stories overall but awful special effects even for the time. Is screaming out for a remake to be honest as the story is a good v evil type narrative.

The Six Million Dollar Man

six

Loved this one to be honest as a kid, it also had really stupid moments, and the tv movies that followed were pretty dire. Who wouldn’t want to be bionic as a kid though! Had a few of the toys as well, and got the annuals at Christmas. They are making a movie which comes out next year, hopefully they will do the classic justice.

Star Trek The Next Generation

stng

Started off a bit dodgy but got a lot better as it went on, Star Trek is a bit more the thinking man’s sci-fi in some ways. Picard was the do gooder but he had a dark side and Data the android was a cool addition to the show.

The X Files

xfiles

This was ground breaking at the time and covered many of the main conspiracy theories and did it very well for about six seasons, but when the actors started to leave it became really poor and the return last year I thought was pretty awful. However the first few years were excellent, and was a not to be missed show for me for a while.

Flash Gordon

flash

Loved this show as a kid. Episodes lasted 10 minutes and Flash and pals got into a lot of scrapes, for its time the special effects were ace and it was always on when I went to the Saturday morning show at the Odeon in Dundee, when it was in the City Centre in the old building. I still watch an episode when I come across one on the telly.

Dr. Who

dr-who

My all-time favourite show and still one I watch, even though Stephen Moffat has done more damage to the show than even the zero money spent on it in the 80’s. The last few years, well around 5 to be exact, have been pretty dire. Still has good special effects, good actors and the occasional good story, but Moffat has pretty much turned it into a nonsensical cartoon that makes little sense anymore but he will be gone soon so hopefully back to it’s best. I don’t want to get into another Moffat rant, I loved it in the late 70’s early 80’s. Drifted away for a while with Davidson, Baker and McCoy but loved it when it came back in 2005.

8 comments

    • grumpyscottishman

      Dave

      I have seen Firefly but preferred the movie, the episodes were too similar for me. If it had gotten a longer run then it might have been a bit better as it developed. I like the Walking Dead as well and that is probably the one I have followed the most the last few years, I also get the comics on the tablet and they are better than the show.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

      • Dave

        I suggested Firefly on the basis of the stuff you’d suggested, I thought if you liked them then you’d like it so wrong choice me. My personal favourites are Farscape and like awkward boy Babylon 5 despite some of the ropey script writing. The Walking Dead is in my opinion the best thing on telly just now and recommences tomorrow night so I’m looking forward to that.

  1. Brian

    The original Star Trek, Season 1, with many episodes written by iconic SF authors…Harlan Ellison, Theodore Sturgeon, Robert Bloch, Richard Matheson and others. True class.

    • Anonymous

      Brian
      I do watch the occasional episode and some are very good but I just never really got into it as much as I did the movies. I will blog about my fav sci-fi movies next I think.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

