Class Doesn’t Matter

We have been told in the past that with improvements in education class is no longer a barrier to achieving your goals.

John Major, shortly after taking over the leadership of the Conservative party in 1990, declared he wanted to produce a ‘genuinely classless society’, and by 1997 John Prescott, as deputy leader of the Labour party, claimed that in essence this aim had been met, as ‘we’re all middle class now’ . Theresa May in her Conference speech said she wants a country “where everyone plays by the same rules and where every single person – regardless of their background, or that of their parents – is given the chance to be all they want to be”.  A classless society.

I then came across this chart below and it really hit home to me that class certainly does matter in todays Britain, and class in Britain dictates in many ways where you go to school, and it seems if you go to a certain University you have a good chance of being Prime Minister. (click on photo to enlarge)

chart

On having a wee skiffy on the net I found that 33% of MPs in the current parliament went to private school, 71% of Judges, 62% of senior Military Officers. 48% of Conservative MP’s went to private school, 17% Labour, 14% Liberal Democrat and 5% SNP. 28% of Team GB in Brazil went to private school meaning you have a better chance of being selected or of being good enough if you have had the benefit of a private education.

The independent sector educates around 6.5% of the total number of school children in the UK meaning that being privately educated gives you a better chance to rule your country. We are still very much ruled in this country by our so called better as our institutions still do not represent the make up of our country at large, anyone surprised. I know that my comments here are only a snap shot, and there have been many reports over the years looking at this issue, but the plain fact remains that not so Great Britain is still driven by class and irrespective of the words of the politicians over the years little has changed, where you come from will pretty much determine where you end up.

educational-inequality-and-social-class-28-638

According to the The Great British class calculator I fit into: Emergent service workers – this class group is financially insecure, scoring low for savings and house value, but high for social and cultural factors. You can try it here and let me know what it tells you if you want to What Social Class are You basically I am skint but have been able to find a bit of culture and education somewhere along the way in my 48 years.

Britain remains a chronically unfair and increasingly closed society to most of us and private education and class play a central role, esp in politics in the United Kingdom. A large part of why I write this blog is my desire to continue to learn, but the more I learn and the more I understand, the more I dislike the United Kingdom everyday.

6 comments

  1. Class should matter

    I don’t know why people want rid of classes. It controls society and keeps the norm. It is up to people to work up the classes

    • grumpyscottishman

      Class Should Matter

      That only works if you can in fact move up and down the system which you can only to a slight degree, personally I would prefer we just treat people the same but that is just not the case, not really anywhere, but in particular the UK.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. Helena Brown

    I so agree with what you say Bruce. I am a tad older than you but in the intervening years I doubt much has changed. An older friend was a teacher of English in the Secondary School which serviced Craigmillar in Edinburgh. The school inspector asked her why she was teaching Shakespeare to het pupils who he felt would not appreciate it. She said I teach to improve. I know many who in my day, and my Husband’s time who looked at who your parents were and slotted you into their position. I expect we are thought of as aberrations, we own our own home, we seem to have more knowledge of much in the world than some of our friend’s more well educated, University children. University seem to work on a very narrow band width these days. I obviously wads expected to work in a factory and my Husband, a craftsman like his father. Both our dad’s left school at the very ordinary age of 14. Secondary education was not available for them both were self educated and certainly were not dummies, but class definitely played a big part in where you ended up.
    Never mind with T. MAY in charge, do not expect any improvement. Tuition fees were meant to restore University for Middle Clas kids to maintain their place.

    • Anonymous

      Helena

      While many more people can go to University, I did and both my oldest kids also, there is not much for them to go on to and they may be straddled with massive debt. There is also far too much self directed study, your lucky if my son has to go in to class 3 times per week so I wonder what kind of education is he actually getting. I had to go in five days per week in the early 90’s when I did my degree but changed days. But class certainly still plays too big a role in this country now and that is sad and it all feels designed to keep people down. Where you went to school and which family you come from does appear to dictate and entitlement to rule, how disgusting is that in this day and age but when you still have the fawning over the Windsor’s is it any wonder.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

    • grumpyscottishman

      Tris

      The other places like India etc got it from us, the poor in those countries must love us. It really is a disgrace that even today class and who you love still determine where you end up, what a joke.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

