I Give You the Professional Yoon

I responded to this tweet by David Leask from the Herald yesterday.

file3

One of the many things that annoy with the yoon press is the way that they report the First Minister, they always call Nicola Sturgeon just Sturgeon. I don’t like it full stop as it’s just plain rude. So I pointed it out to David Leask.

file1

I think my point was a fair point and it would improve what is a shitty paper if they actually started to show a little respect to the First Minister but more importantly the office of First Minister, it is the most important political job in Scotland, an office that many of us would expect to be treated with respect whomever is occupying it. David Leask responded that this is the First Ministers name so I asked him if he just gets called Leask all the time.

file5

David Leask then responded by saying that this what happens in the press.

file2

Now the issue of ink is a fair answer, not one that I pretty much take seriously but given how much the press is struggling financially I suppose they are trying to save as much as they can, so fair enough. I went on to point out that he could have actually just said that the first time.

file4

As you can see from Leasks response he went into professional yoondom mode by becoming insulting, there was no need for it, I was certainly not trolling so pointed out that rather than injecting stupidity into the public domain that would actually be the Herald and why their sales keep dropping.

Is it any wonder that the yoon press are struggling when this is how so called professional journalists respond to tweets that are actually not rude, offensive, or trolling. What are they so afraid of. James over at Scot Goes Pop has had a wee twitter debate with Alex ‘Union’ Massie from the Spectator and Stu at Wings with the alleged journalist Siobhan McFadyen at Daily Express.

No wonder many of us don’t buy papers anymore, they just can’t take it. They can’t take it that they have already lost the argument and they can’t take it that the dirty unwashed can challenge them and show them up for how shit they actually are, the papers might actually recover if they paid many of the bloggers out there who are far better (not me) than most of the yoon journalists.

UPDATE

It appears the debate has continued in my absence and David Leask is now blocking people lol, the world has gone mad as journalism of the yoon kind continues to sink to new levels of childlike tantrum.

file2

10 comments

  1. Irene

    I see Leask (as that’s the standard mode of address. Apparently. Has difficulty spelling misrepresentation. Now even my autocorrect can manage that!

    • grumpyscottishman

      Irene

      I don’t buy the Herald so don’t know if he is any good, but I suspect he is not. But hey another fewyears and thosepaperswill be pretty much gone fromScotland unlesstheir owners like to make year on year loses.

      Thanks for commenting.
      Bruce

    • grumpyscottishman

      Ross

      I don’t like the way they use the word Nationalist but I suppose thats what all yes voters are by the definition of the word, but they use it as an insult so we use yoon,they hate that even more:)

      Thanks forcommenting.
      Bruce

  2. Helena Brown

    You would be hung for being disrespectful to the office of the President of the United States but being disrespectful to the office of the Guest Minister is okay. I noticed on Twitter yesterday that people were commenting on the Scotish Tory Page about the same Thing. I wonder how Leask, David would like some partisan journalist treat his particular favourite the same way. Good for you Bruce, I commend you.

    • Anonymous

      Helena

      I was surprised to be honest. All the guy had to do was give his answer but the defences went up and he resorted to yoondom. It was then picked up by others on Twitter after I had left conversation and he started blocking people. What are they afraid of.

      They would never do it to other offices and never the manager of Rangers as they would be afraid. We live in a shitty little right wing country now.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  3. lanark

    So that’s what all this guys education and training can bring him? – You’re stupid so ye ur!

    Their beloved Union and all their arguments for it are morally bankrupt and as the UK gets nastier so do its supporters it seems. Well done in showing Leask up.

    I’m not on twitter, but I’m doing my bit “blocking” him. – I haven’t bought The Herald for years and never will again.

    • Anonymous

      Lanark

      I don’t buy any paper now other than the national a few times a week to do my bit. The guy is a plank like the Torrances and Massies of the world, they have lost the argument and are just resorting to more right wing bullshit and attempting to insult and bully. Long may it continue as we get closer to yes everyday.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  4. Rachel McCormack (@R_McCormack)

    This has to be one of the most stupid and pointless blog posts I have ever seen in my life. You should be out there engaging No voters and turning them into Yes ones so we can get independence rather than creating false grievances with such stupidity. Look at every newspaper in the whole of the U.K. they talk about Blair, Brown, Cameron and May in their headlines. Every single one.
    Get a grip, stop being so utterly ridiculous and go and do something positive for Scotland.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Rachel

      You know nothing about me or what I may or may not do to campaign for Scotlands sovereignty but rather than be rude, and Ill informed, maybe you need to think about how you engage in debate. If your response to this blog is how you speak to others you are possibly someone the yes campaign could well do without.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

