Sorry Derek, but you’re wrong!

Derek Bateman wrote an interesting piece on Friday about everyone’s favourite subject, BBC Scotland, and the billboards that have been doing the rounds regarding BBC Scotland’s perceived lack of impartiality by many of us in Scotland.

bbc-mis-reporting-scotland

Derek argues that BBC Scotland is part of a collective ethos, and that the employees subconsciously follow that ethos. Derek feels that the anti BBC feelings that many of us hold in Scotland is insulting to the people who work there, Derek singles out Jackie Bird for particular praise. Derek accepts that scrutiny of the BBC is legitimate but questions if the billboards are the way to reinforce it.

However, Derek Bateman also feels that the anti BBC case has been exhausted, that it sounds like beating a drum to death. Derek accepts that there is poor management and poor journalism but goes on to imply, in my opinion, that in future we will have to be nice to BBC Scotland journalists so they report positive stories about the SNP and the YES cause once opinions are moving. Derek asks ­what do we say then about the journalists telling us a story that suits our narrative? Are they still distorting the truth or are they now to be trusted?

I’m sorry Derek but that is bollocks.

I respect Derek Bateman’s opinion, he is a talented writer and journalist whom I can honestly say is up there with Lesley Riddoch in the trust stakes, but that doesn’t mean he is correct. As we saw during the referendum BBC Scotland were part of a campaign to misreport the facts.

scotlandbias2-1

The report by Dr. John Robertson of the West of Scotland University on bias and reporting in news media during the referendum found that in BBC Scotland there was an anti independence anti Alex Salmond slant in the reporting BBC and media Bias or GA Ponsonby How the BBC Stole the Referendum demonstrating how BBC Scotland was complicit in the campaign against Scottish Independence.

Now we can argue all day whether the reporting by BBC Scotland was deliberately miss-leading or just shit journalism until the cows come home. We can have a debate all day about BBC Scotland just being the Westminster Governments Pravda in Scotland, also many might argue that BBC Scotland is actually the unofficial press office for British Labour in Scotland.

The simple reality for myself is this. I will never trust BBC Scotland or the BBC in general to report the facts, to report the truth, to provide balance. Neither will I believe any journalist working for BBC Scotland to properly report any future referendum on Scottish Independence. There is such a thing as ‘The Journalist’s Creed’ which is a personal affirmation of journalism ethics written by Walter Williams in 1914 that many say they follow. This creed states:

I believe in the profession of journalism.
I believe that the public journal is a public trust; that all connected with it are, to the full measure of their responsibility, trustees for the public; that acceptance of a lesser service than the public service is betrayal of this trust.
I believe that clear thinking and clear statement, accuracy and fairness are fundamental to good journalism.
I believe that a journalist should write only what he holds in his heart to be true.
I believe that suppression of the news, for any consideration other than the welfare of society, is indefensible.
I believe that no one should write as a journalist what he would not say as a gentleman; that bribery by one’s own pocketbook is as much to be avoided as bribery by the pocketbook of another; that individual responsibility may not be escaped by pleading another’s instructions or another’s dividends.
I believe that advertising, news and editorial columns should alike serve the best interests of readers; that a single standard of helpful truth and cleanness should prevail for all; that the supreme test of good journalism is the measure of its public service.
I believe that the journalism which succeeds best — and best deserves success — fears God and honors Man; is stoutly independent, unmoved by pride of opinion or greed of power, constructive, tolerant but never careless, self-controlled, patient, always respectful of its readers but always unafraid, is quickly indignant at injustice; is unswayed by the appeal of privilege or the clamor of the mob; seeks to give every man a chance and, as far as law and honest wage and recognition of human brotherhood can make it so, an equal chance; is profoundly patriotic while sincerely promoting international good will and cementing world-comradeship; is a journalism of humanity, of and for today’s world.

Now while the language may be outdated, the ideas should not be, but none of them are met by BBC Scotland and I don’t care what Derek Bateman or anyone says and I am not about to force myself to be nice to any BBC Scotland journalist in some vain hope they might print a nice and accurate story, the fact they don’t should shame them as much as my paying my propaganda tv tax shames me.

8 comments

  1. awkwardboy

    If the TV tax shames you so much why do you pay it? For less than the cost of a tv licence you can have netflix and amazon prime, they dont have any news programs but Al Jazeera and RT both offer UK, European and world news that surpasses the bbc efforts.

    • Anonymous

      awkwardboy
      Fair point but as we have sky the wife and kids just would not have it sadly. I do call for the BBC to be privitised in every consultation on the subject I take part in and do my best to not watch it all at all and I mostly never watch anything on it. I pretty much stopped the BBC and the papers, other than The National, after the referendum and don’t miss either. Even when offered the papers for free I don’t take them, not worth our time.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. lanark

    Personally, I am not sure that the billboards will work in convincing soft No voters. I have read Derek Bateman’s two articles on this subject and just like most people, I feel while he makes good points he is wrong.

    Derek Bateman is a huge asset to the Yes cause and his blog is an excellent read. My respect for him is unchanged but the blatant bias of the BBC cannot be denied. The examples are well known and too numerous to list. If you think Call Kaye is bad, try listening to Jeremy Vine when the discussion is on Scotland or the SNP and his contempt bordering on hatred has to be heard to be believed (always backed up tame Jock callers just like oor Kaye).

    As I’ve mentioned in a previous reply, the television is probably the best propaganda weapon there is and it is used, sometimes sublty, sometimes blatantly against but always against, our cause.

    We are the most colonised nation on Earth, because we are conditioned from our first breath to think British.
    Even when Scottishness is expressed (football, rugby, jockanised versions of UK newspapers etc), it is always in the context of Britishness. Other peoples had fences, the Iron Curtain, the Berlin Wall, tanks, guns, the Black and Tans, secret police to keep them in line. We have Eastenders, BBC Royal Correspondents and the Great British Bake Off to keep us where they want us. (ITV/STV do their bit too). I have lost count of the number of times I have heard Yes voting workmates saying how cute wee George looks or how lovely Kate looks in such and such a dress.

    If that sounds like blood and soil nationalism, then please believe me it isn’t. We need a future for everyone in an independent Scotland, wherever they are born, free from the British nationalism that seeps into all of us. We have to think differently and ignoring the State Broadcaster of the State we wish to secede from is the best start.

    • Anonymous

      lanark

      I am getting to the point where I am not that bothered if soft no voters get upset. If no voters don’t get upset at foodbanks, sanctions, privilege, bankers, MPs exspenses, the lack of democracy, never ending war, selling weapons to nutters, the refugee crisis, nuclear weapons to name a few then they will never get upset. I promised myself some time ago that the days of sugar coating for the yoons, from me anyway, is well and truly over. We tried that the last time and look where it got us, no if they can’t handle the truth or refuse to see it, f them.

      I agree with you that Derek Bateman is a huge talent for the YES side, he communicates very well, is very intelligent and articulate, and his blog is excellent. He is up there with Lesley Riddoch that’s for sure in the trust stakes. I dont agree with Derek on this one at all though and I am not for being nice to journalists who lie, and who know they are lieing, either that or they are very thick and yoon sickness is terminal in them. The TV is a good medium to get to those who don’t use the internet and social media, they are also the ones who read the bloody Mail and Express but it will never work for us. I’m not so sure we will ever change their minds to be honest, I think too many are a lost cause and they are not all of the older generation.

      I totally agree with you about how we have been subtly kept in check with the UK message, Jockholme Syndrome. Wall to wall butchers apron and Great British this and Great British that. The Olympics we saw it in all it’s glory when team BBC only covered Great Britain and hardly mentioned anyone else, shit even yoons were complaining. It is a joke but again if people are too stupid to see it then f them. The papers will also do their bit with an anti indy story or anti SNP story with a photo of a so called Royal on the front page, parasites of the worst kind, they would shit on you and me to stay where they are and their constant breeding to keep the line going gets right on my nerves, no sanctions or reductions in child benefit for those leeches. Knowing our luck the next indy ref will have to cope with some major Royal sob story no doubt.

      Sadly the world has had to put up with British Nationalism for too long, the EU are now showing the Tories exactly what the good old British Empire means, nothing, jack shit. Even the former colonies want nothing to do with this shit hole of a country, we are the only brainwashed ones left, well the Northern Irish too I suppose, everyone else woke up a long time ago. However, the BBC is a shit service, I know many within the SNP will talk about the nature programmes, the parliament channel blah blah blah. I just don’t care, I would happily give it all up to get rif of the BBC in all it’s shitty reasons for being there and it’s maybe time we just all say f it, esp the SNP. They can’t win either way so why bother anymore.

      I still hope the SNP hold fire on the next indy ref though. Brexit will be a mess with the Tories in charge and the Tories will win the next election, Labour Tories will keep voting to bomb children and sell arms to nut jobs and the economy will tank as the Tories protect the bankers and the Windsors and not even the BBC propoganda machine will be able to hide it, that might just start to tip the balance with the soft no voters(big maybe), whoever they might be, it won’t convince the yoons but they would jump off a cliff if told the nutters.

      Thanks for commenting. Sorry for the rant in reply 🙂

      Bruce

  3. bjsalba

    I don’t have a TV, I don’t listen to Radio Scotland but I do monitor BBC Radio 4 to figure out what the current line of propaganda is.

    Since 23rd June there has been a noticeable increase in EU Baad items. Before that you wouldn’t have heard anything about any of these countries. I must admit that I am laughing myself silly to see the contortions they are going through to vilify Walonia. They were, after all only exercising the Sovereign rights that they have within the EU, which the leave Campaign said we needed to leave to get back. Funny that.

    • Anonymous

      bsjalba

      I must admit I am not up on the Wallonia story too much but from what I can see on some euro news sites it sounds like the EU has put them under a lot of pressure to accept the CETA deal when most of the people are against it, in fact many in the EU are against it so you would think that would be playing into the Brexiters hands. It would be interesting to find out what took place as CETA and TTIP I don’t think are good for ordinary people from what I understand. Not to that Brexit will be either with the Tories in charge but these deals put power very much into the hands of the large corporations, I have heard some in the EU say that once passed TTIP will bring back lawful slavery in the EU. If you know more about it please explain it to me.

      The BBC I have given up on and did so years ago. If it wasn’t for the family I would happily not pay the tv tax and just do without. I don’t agree with Derek Bateman about being nice to the journalists, or he implies that, to get a fair hearing. We won’t ever get a fair hearing from the BBC no matter what anyone says and if any journalist does that they will be back working in Stranrear before they know it, not that there is anything wrong with Stranrear that I know of. No, the BBC can go do one in my opinion.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

