Something Different: Madrid

I am off to Madrid this weekend for 7 days, first time abroad for a few years as I tend to just stay in the UK. While I am not looking forward to the travelling, remember miserable git, I am looking forward to visiting Madrid and Spain.

madrid

The last time I went abroad I went to Ghana, amazing country. I have been to Spain before but that was nearly 25 years ago, so it has been a while. I am not expecting to do any blogging when away at all, I am going to try my best to be a politics free zone for 7 days, but I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank everyone who reads this blog and those that take the time to comment and point out where I am maybe not looking at all the angles. It really is very flattering that anyone reads this blog at all, and I am not making it up when I say how much I appreciate that you do and how you add to it all with your comments.

I blog because I want to learn, I want to express my opinion and I want to encourage others to do the same. I keep all of my research, and the links that I use, so please feel free to ask for them if you want to check out what I am saying and making opinions on or if you just want to read them, but anyway I am off on my hols so thanks for all the likes and reads.

13 comments

  1. Helena Brown

    Bruce, have a great time, Madrid is on next year’s to do list, probably should be going now before we have no spending money. Wee tip, stay away from any accent that smacks of the south of Britain. I have had problems which were not sought in the previous few years. Have a wonderful time and tell us all about it.

    • Bruce Hosie

      Helena

      First real day today and went to Europe’s biggest flea market. It was massive and must have walked for miles. Usual people trying to rip us off but with the pound basically the same now that’s harder. So far Madrid is lovely.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

    • Anonymous

      Bsjalba

      Not had any problems but my wife wasn’t happy at group of folk from England being really rude. They were from London and being prats but you get that everywhere.

      Thanks for the advice.

      Bruce

  2. lanark

    Have a good holiday, you deserve it. Your blog posts are always much appreciated as is the time you take to read and reply to your readers posts.

    • Anonymous

      Lanark

      Thanks, it’s roasting. Had to go and buy shorts lol . Didn’t bring any with me.

      Thanks for the kind words.

      Bruce

  3. tris

    Have a great time, Bruce. I’ve never been to Madrid, although I’ve heard a lot about it and it was all good.

    Your blog is excellent and I never miss, even if I don’t always comment.

    • Bruce Hosie

      Tris

      Pretty expensive but food is amazing things look great. Very warm even for October but graffiti everywhere and I mean everywhere sadly. Drivers are mental, every car you see has a dent in it. But so far it really is lovely.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  4. jimnarlene

    Have a great time, Bruce. I always enjoy reading your blog, different perspectives and all that.
    Don’t get too sunburned, and do a blog post telling us all about it, then we can Madrid; vicariously.

    • Anonymous

      Jim

      Flying back tomorrow after 7 days. It’s been nice to be fair but took a couple of days to get used to things and language difficult but once we sussed out the subway it made life a lot easier. Obviously pound worth nothing now so everything is expensive so time to come home. No comments other than one guy asking if I was English but from what I see no one really gives a shit. I don’t think the UK will be missed. I’ll post some pics once I get a chance but have not been following the news or blogs nothing, that has been great

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

