Something Different: Something Inside So Strong

One of the first overtly political songs I remember from my youth was ‘Something Inside So Strong’ by Labi Siffre. The song was inspired by the struggle in South Africa against apartheid and lyrically is a powerful and emotive song. I thought about the song yesterday when I heard the Kaye Adams Programme on BBC Radio Scotland and writing my blog last night about the show. The lyrics are below:

The higher you build your barriers, the taller I become
The farther you take my rights away, the faster I will run
You can deny me, you can decide to turn your face away
No matter ’cause there’s…

Something inside so strong
I know that I can make it
Though you’re doin’ me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone, oh no
There’s something inside so strong
Something inside so strong

The more you refuse to hear my voice, the louder I will sing
You hide behind walls of Jericho, you’re lies will come tumbling
Deny my place and time, you squander wealth that’s mine

My light will shine so brightly it will blind you
Because there’s…

Something inside so strong
I know that I can make it
Though you’re doin’ me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone, oh no
There’s something inside so strong
Something inside so strong

Brothers and sisters, when they insist we’re just not good enough.

Well, we know better, just look ’em in the eyes and say.

“Were gonna do it anyway, were gonna do it anyway… Were gonna do it anyway”

Something inside so strong
I know that I can make it
Though you’re doin’ me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone, oh no
There’s something inside so strong
Something inside so strong

This song is so good that it transcends the apartheid movement and can equally apply to all of us who believe in the YES movement, as well as, other fights for liberty, democracy, freedom from oppression all over the world. This song really inspires me and lifts me up when I feel we are losing the argument, when we feel we can’t change hearts and minds.

If you haven’t heard this song then please click on the link below and have a listen, it will remind you what we are fighting for and that we can never, ever, give up.

Something Inside So Strong

6 comments

    • Anonymous

      bsj

      Really good song, very inspiring, esp when you feel on a downer as I was feeling last week with the constant too poor too wee too stupid drip drip drip.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  1. antmcg

    Great song, this takes me back to when I believed the press, and the BBC…
    This song was part of my journey into seeing things clearly for the first time 🙂

    • Anonymous

      antmcq
      I was the same, young in the 80’s and very naive. Brought up on English/British history and knowing next to nothing about Scotland or the wider world, the sad part is that was the plan all along.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. lanark

    I read this article/listened to the song after reading a truly miserable article by Oliver Mundell in my local newspaper. It was just what I needed. Thank you.

    Like so many, I was meekly accepting of what I was told by the MSM/BBC. I no longer feel British, nor do I want to be. The grand long term strategist, Alex Salmond knew that before we could be a different country we had to feel like one. In that he has succeeded. Even if we lose another referendum, we must never give up.

    • Anonymous

      Lanark

      Yeah Mundell is a chip off the old block, all grievance and nothing else. Why do people votes for their likes, it’s beyond me it really is. I must admit I have never British or European for that matter. I have always just considered myself Scottish and that is that. The song is great song, it is a good one when you want to re-focus on what many of us are aiming for.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

