A New Low of the Lowest

As I have commented in the past I have rarely bought a newspaper since the referendum, I have occasionally picked up a National or a Dundee Courier but overall broke the habit during Project Fear and Lies. We all understand, as Stuart noted on Wings, that there is no point in personalizing attacks on the media or journalists for a variety of reasons and I understand that, it really doesn’t help the cause. I do reserve the right to politely challenge them though when they just blindly spout their employers lies without challenge, I do believe in such a thing as professional integrity, but what I saw this morning just takes the piss. The Sunday Mail are now up there with the Scotland on Sunday with today’s front page, where the Scotland on Sunday implied that YES were Nazi’s (see below)

Sunday herald Flag Pic

The Sunday Mail today has implied that Scots are partly responsible for maiming and murdering (see below)

Sunday Mail New Low

If decent people from both Yes and No are not offended by this then there is little hope left. How dare they in their drive to imply anything can they imply that we, as a nation, are a party to maiming and murdering, how f*****g dare they. I can’t remember Holyrood granting licenses to sell weapons to anyone, that is reserved, only the UK Government can sanction the sale of arms and controlled goods, that would be the British Government. Yes some arms might be made in Scotland, under UK Government approval, but to imply that Scots alone are doing this is the lowest I think anyone can go in recent times.

My message to the Sunday Mail is F***K YOU with bells on. I swore to myself this morning that I am finished with ever buying a newspaper again, I have had it with the main stream media in this country. They are a bunch of shysters of the worst kind and any so-called journalist putting their name to that should hang their heads in shame, you deserve our contempt, you deserve our loathing and you certainly have no right to call yourself a journalist in any shape or form. Today was a new low for me, if this doesn’t make you want that YES vote even more then nothing will, and if you support that headline and front page then shame on you.

I was going to make weekends a politics free zone on Grumpy, so I am sorry for that, but this got me so pissed off this morning that I had to rant. next weekend will be politics free.

47 comments

    • Anonymous

      bsjalba

      When I saw it this morning going for the rolls I just thought, no, surely that can’t be a proper front page. It just pisses me off the lengths the media will go to run us down and keep us cowered, f them. I am really getting to the point where nice and polite gets harder and harder every day.

      Thanks for taking the time to have a wee read and comment.

      Bruce

    • Judith Delissen

      Just proving what a rag the Daily Mail is. Not even fit for toilet paper. These claims about Scots making bombs cannot be proved. The Daily and the Sunday Mail have a reading age of 7yrs enough said

      • grumpyscottishman

        Judith

        I’m not sure if it’s Scots that make them or defense workers bussed in and out to be honest, the headline was off and seemed more about implying and linking Scots to something than just saying British would have been more honest in my opinion. Agree though that thesepapers aren’t even fit to be toilet paper.

        Thanks for commenting.

        Bruce

      • Ewan

        I may be wrong but I think the “sister” paper of the Sunday Mail is The Daily Record. The Daily Mail equivalent being The Mail on Sunday. All of the above are not worth wiping your arse on though.

        • Anonymous

          Ewan

          Totally agree, all part of the Trinity Mirror Group, and they don’t have the best of records in anything really. All bad and representing the 1%, they certainly wouldn’t piss on us if we were on fire.

          Thanks for commenting.

          Bruce

    • Anonymous

      Tris

      It’s getting rediculous the lengths they go now, it’s too far for me. How they can get away with it is beyond me, I hope they go the way of the Johnson Press which looks like it’s in real trouble now with the paper print and may go online which will kill them.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  1. Gordon B.

    Media clearly do not do irony..!
    If the ‘nazi’ slurs were even remotely true, the media would be too scared for their safety to even dare publish this sort of garbage.

    But hey ho…small details and all that !

    • grumpyscottishman

      Gordon

      Nothing ironic about that front page. It feels like after the Brexit vote someone at the Sunday Mail has decided that those bloody Scots need to be brought back down to earth with a bump, bang there you go. Just an unreal front page.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  2. johnny rud

    like you i stopped buying a daily paper i started buying the sunday herald when they supported independence but stopped as soon as they turned against i buy the national but have my doubts about them their owners are wanting a bite of the cherry from both sides i blame the national for the snp losing their majority at the scottish elections with their promotion of rise the snp have got to come out and explain to the voters the truth of what is getting reported a lot of the older generation believe what they read in the papers and what they hear on the bbc it is up to the snp and the yes people to counteract the lies that is coming from the main stream press and the bbc i think the yes camp and the snp have got to start a free paper delivered to every household in scotland either by groups of independence people or by post its the only way we are going to get the truth to the people of scotland

    • grumpyscottishman

      Johnny

      I won’t be buying a newspaper again that’s for sure. I agree with you about the National, it feels like it’s mainly blogs and you can access these on-line, I don’t know about how much impact they had on the SNP vote but I definately think that it feels like they want a piece of both sides. Older voters do buy the papers though and I’m sure, like myself, you have seen an older person buy 2 or 3 different ones in the morning. I’m not sure you can change their minds if they are no voters or even by pointing out the hypocracy of the media and the propoganda role they have in this country now, maybe have always had. I do pick up the IScot Magazine, have done for a few months and it’s pretty good and covers a wide range of things Scotland, if you haven’t seen it check it out.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

    • cluthab

      I think a free paper is a good idea, but delivery is the problem. Our SNP branch of 200+ members struggles to get foot soldiers out to deliver leaflets and MP’s newsletter. Getting youngsters out to help would be a hassle in the Faslane area, too many parents working there brainwashing them!
      With the Indy ref, UK & Sottish elections, + EU ref, our senior volunteers need new feet.

      • grumpyscottishman

        Cluthab

        I agree with a free paper but like you say how would it get delivered and many would sadly just see it as propoganda if it were from the SNP. I think we need to keep talking to people, blogging, sharing on social media, challenging appropriately and so forth as we will never better the media until enough people stop buying papers and social media while important won’t get to enough people so we need to keep talking and sharing where we can.

        Thanks for commenting.

        Bruce

      • Anonymous

        Jeanette

        I had hope for the National and bought a few but as time went on it started to change and tone down it’s YES support in my opinion so I basically stopped buying it other than now and again but I really am not buying papers anymore. I will just contribute to the Wings fund raiser every year and anything else I feel I would like to support when I have the spare cash.

        Thanks for commenting.

        Bruce

  3. Craig

    The best response to this pish is to stop buying their propaganda rags (as many Scot’s are now realising) they won’t be missed when they go down…l do feel for the people who work on them that do have integrity but l’m sure they will thrive elsewhere as people with integrity generally do…

    • grumpyscottishman

      Craig

      Yeah my days of newspaper buying are well and truly over, that was pretty much the final straw but saying that I maybe bought 2 in a week so well out of the habit. I tend to look at stuff online and the blogs etc that are linked on the home page of this blog. I won’t miss them if they go under but I would feel for the honest people losing their jobs, folk like the printers and cleaners etc are the ones who will suffer because of this rubbish they are printing, they must have decided Scotland is lost time to commit harricarri.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Bruce.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Anon

      I don’t think they would remove them but we can certainly express our opinion on them and by blogging or sharing on social media the message will get across, they are only digging bigger graves for themselves.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

    • grumpyscottishman

      Stevan

      Disgusted, offended and angry was how I felt when I saw it, also a deep disappointed breath moment. The Yoons are certainly going for it on the back of the brexit vote, and Scotland doesn’t fit their view of the world. This is Better Together all the way and it shows that BT has gone no where and is very much still in fighting mode. Time for YES to re-group and get going again and the march in Glasgow was a good start to part two.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  4. Helen McCrossan

    I didn’t think the MSM could go any lower. However, this is beyond the pale. This insults each & every decent person in Scotland.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Colin

      Totally agree, I would prefer we didn’t make these weapons here to be honest. I’m not a pacifist but UK Foriegn Policy is shameful and has been since the UK came about and I would prefer to have nothing to do with it.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  5. Simon Brooke

    Look, the Sunday Mail article is just telling the truth. Raytheon are making bombs in Glenrothes and selling them to the Saudis who are dropping them on Yemeni civilians. You may not like it (I certainly don’t), but you can’t complain about journalists telling you the simple truth. But the bombs are made in Scotland by Scots people and dropped by the Saudis (being advised by British military advisors) onto Yemeni schools and hospitals.

    What’s shameful is not that the Mail is reporting it. What’s shameful is that Raytheon are doing it, and that the British government (and the British military) are facilitating it.

    Don’t shoot the messenger.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Simon

      Thanks for the info, I do undertsand that but the message could equally have said British but chose to say Scots. That was deliberate and, in my mind, designed to put Scots back in their place. The headline also implies that Scots have control over the situation which of course we don’t. I would rather these weapons were made somewhere else and I certainly wish that Holyrood had control over whom they are sold to but sadly we don’t. The Sunday Mail Editor knew exactly what they were doing, the headline is factually correct but as I said the same would be true if they had said British, so for me it was a dig at Scotland by a Scottish Paper owned by Trinity Mirror Group. A newspaper group heavily implicated in phone hacking and a strong supporter of Better Together so the context for me matters as well.

      Thanks for commenting and sharing the info.

      Bruce

    • Rosie

      I don’t know for sure but I do know this part of Scotland and the likelihood of an all-Scottish workforce at Raytheon is highly unlikely – from the floor to the ceiling.

      • grumpyscottishman

        Rosie

        I don’t know to be honest but would not besurprised, hopefully in an independent Scotland we can put our talents to better use and have a more ethical forign policy.

        Thanks for commenting.

        Bruce

  6. hamish

    I noticed that the BBC Radio Scotland could not even pronounce “Raytheon”. f Far removed from their normal news agenda. they are not used to talking about the connections between Scotland and the US War Machine !

    • grumpyscottishman

      Hamish
      I didn’t hear anything on the radio about it but would not have expected to and certainly not by the BBC. Simon makes fair points above but it was a deliberate act for me as newspapers don’t do things off the cuff do they, well not in my experience. Better Together all the way, I guess part two of the indy debate starts in the gutter as we probably knew it would.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

    • grumpyscottishman

      Anon

      As I said to Simon above it is not factually wrong, I accept that, but it could have said Brits make the bombs, Westminster approves the sale to undemocratic Saudi Arabia who drop the bombs on Yemanie children to maim and murder them, but it didn’t. That would have been more factually correct but they chose to go down the Scottish route, if we are Great Britain why is the fact that they are made in Scotland important if not to have a go.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  7. Anonymous

    So there are no factories in Scotland happily providing jobs making munitions and weaponry sold to Saudi which are used to kill in Yemen? Those workers are as guilty of murder as are the politicians that facilitate the deals for the corporations to profit from weapons manufacture and those firing them. Take some responsibility for being utterly complicit with the Westminster war profiteers……A remarkable parallel with the corporate profiteering which drove the second world war.

    • grumpyscottishman

      Anon

      I don’t know if the people working in the factory are happy that the things they make are killing and maiming children, I would imagine they are not. Are they as guilty of maiming and murdering as the Saudis and the British Government who allow the weapons to be sold to the Saudis, I don’t know, that would be a moral judgement on them as individuals. They have no control over who they get sold to, Westminster does, and as we know Westminster has 3 unionist MPs out of 59 so that implies that it does not represent Scotland and the tide has changed in that regard. I didn’t vote Tory, never have and have never voted for a unionist party at Westminster so while they might sell these things in my name if you want to break it down, I have no say or control over it, like the people at the factory, so the implication is a difficult one but that is not the point of the blog. My point is the headline, the use of the word Scots and what that means in the context of the paper.

      Thanks for commenting and sharing the info.

      Bruce

  8. Anonymous

    Shocking use of an original Iconic picture and if I had taken original picture I’d be suing the arse off Sunday Mail for degrading that photo

  9. Jill

    I too, never buy. Paper and NEVER watch BBC. I do, however, listen to radio Scotland of an early morning before I get up and frankly I could quite happily strangle the lot of them whe I hear what comes out of their mouths. This morning that dreadful Gary Robertson was haranguing Ian Gray, who IS an idiot, but he was going too far. He is supposed to interview, not try to put words in the mouths of some politicion of whatever kidney. And I am of the older generation and don,t believe a word they say. I take some stick for it from my better together friends who will never change their minds, even as the Titanic is sinking

    • grumpyscottishman

      Jill

      I heard a little of that interview getting ready for work and thought that Gary Robertson just harranged him to be honest, I am no fan of Ian Gray in any shape or form and totally understand that most politicians talk crap, but Robertson just would not give him any scope to answer the questions. Typical BBC Scotland road crash of an interview but that is what we have come to expect now, or most of us have. I read somewhere that at least 40% of the those who voted no would never vote yes under any circumstances so the fight is for the 15% who are soft no, but getting the message to them is not easy with the media we have to suffer in this country.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  10. Matthew Watkins

    Ok, i was thinking to myself: why would a Scottish paper that is not routinely sold elsewhere carry a story so offensive to the people of Scotland? Who is this inflammatory headline for?
    Now, assuming the online version of this is the same as the printed version, it reads more like: hey, fellow Scots, did you know that some of the bombs killing innocent Yemenis are made here in Scotland? Thats pretty shit; lets put pressure on the powers that be to stop selling these bombs to the Saudis.
    Of course the headline is a cynical attempt to sell papers!
    Discuss…

    • grumpyscottishman

      Matthew

      I can’t think why they would go with that story, or more to the point that headline, my only thought was that they were implicating Scots for whatever reason and I can only think it’s BT2 to be honest. I don’t know how we pressurise Government to stop selling these weapons to people like the Saudis, I think the Tories would do just about anything for money, Labour were no different and it comes down to having an ethical foriegn policy but that is a long way off I suppose. I think if enough people stop buying the papers that is a start, if people blog and use social media, talk to their friends, email their MP’s etc that might help but as we know Scotland doesn’t vote Tory so they really don’t care.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  11. bjsalba

    I do think you might be right about the “Scotland was a full partner in the British Empires dark doings” being part of the new anti-Independence media project.

    The Sunday Mail front page was not the first piece along those lines. There was this just a few days before.
    https://www.commonspace.scot/articles/8980/scottish-slavery-map-plotting-out-scotlands-past

    I noted it because it seemed to me rather peculiar on two counts. Firstly they are comparing Edinburgh and London, but if my memory serves me correctly, the main cities involved in the slave trade were Bristol, Liverpool and Glasgow. The basis for comparison also seemed to me to be seems to be very odd as it seems to be based on counting any address association with plantations as a link to slaving activities and compensation after the abolition of the trade.

    I also note that a lot of the main body of the article is about slave transportation, which is not the same as slave ownership on plantations.

    It seemed to me to be rather contrived to paint Scotland in a bad light, somehow.

    • grumpyscottishman

      bjsalba

      I saw that story linked on social media but decided not to read it. I am married to a Ghanian and have been to what they call the British Slave Castle on the Gold Coast in Ghana and when you do the tour you leave ashamed to be honest. What the British did to these people is beyond belief and if we had world courts in those days we would never have been out of them, it was inhumane what was done, rape, murder, starvation and many Scots shamefully were willing partners. I agree with you though that Better Together Part 2 has started in ernist and we need to get going. Better Together has never gone away and I believe the next time will really see everything thrown at us big time, every threat, every scare, every story to undermine our confidence. We really need to keep at it, we have them scared and they know that their union is hanging by a thread but there are many out there still needing to be convinced, we will never get the die hard 40% who would rather starve themselves before voting for an independent Scotland but there are 15% out there who can be convinced. We need to keep going in any way that we can to get the message across and to highlight the failures and disgusting nature of the UK.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

    • grumpyscottishman

      Rosie

      I started blogging mainly to keep myself sane as the older I get the angrier I get with the state of things that we have to put up with in this country, and I get so frustrated that we just sit and take it in the main. This blog was my way of expressing my frustration and I was encourgaed by other bloggers who thought I had someone worth reading when I commented on their blogs. To be honest I find it amazing that anyone reads my rants and even take the time to comment and share their thoughts, that is so great and I have learned so much from folk who have taken the time to educate me. I would encourage anyone who feel they would like to get things out there to blog, I’m not a good writer, my english is not the best, I just try to write the way I talk and the way I have conversations with people. I try to make it real and try not to patronise people with words like many people such as Torrance, Fraser and so many in the BBC do. When I read their stuff I feel like they are trying to make me feel ignorant, esp with the words they use that is more about them being smart arses than anything else.

      Thanks for reading my rant.

      Bruce

Leave a Reply

