Looking forward to Christmas but

I generally enjoy the Christmas period. I like the cold weather, I like the old 70s and 80s TV shows from my youth, I love the Darts from the Ally Paley, I love the tree and the lights and I really love mince pies. Although not enjoying the cold I have at the moment.

However this year, like many, I am cutting back, not really because I desperately have to but really because I feel that to not cut back a bit would be wrong. Now that might sound a little strange but stick with me. We all know that for many Christmas is not a time of the year that they look forward to at all for many different reasons.

I started to think about this again as I put some food into the trolley for the local food bank this morning.

This year the Trussell Trust report that many thousands of people, including the elderly and children, will rely on foodbanks for their Christmas dinner and for many a little present or two for the kids. Food poverty is a crime as far as I am concerned but at this time of year it really hits home to me how shit this country really is. While David Cameron, the Windsors and Milibands etc are enjoying the best Christmas that money can buy thousands will be worried about how they get through the day. While the Queen can afford to buy William a four million pounds helicopter to fly to work, many parents will be breaking their hearts because their kids will have little or nothing under the tree, if they have a tree at all. That is obscene.

We live in one of the wealthiest countries in the world but also one of the most unequal. As we see in the media RBS bankers continue to get away with what can only be described as crimes against this countries economy and get awards and bonuses while those, through no fault of their own in the main, will be getting their poverty money sanctioned or stopped so will effectively starve to save money and get the dole numbers down so that the very bankers, politicians and the elite can live a life that is an affront to many of us.

So can I ask a couple of things? If you see any donations points for your local food bank and you can spare a couple of tins of food please donate, your donation might be the difference between a meal or an empty stomach. The other thing to remember is that as the politicians create scares of continuing doom from terrorists, continuing doom about the economy they are living lives that we can only dream of. They are using your money to provide the best that money can buy for themselves and their families, so when you go to vote next year in the General Election remember who did what, when, and to whom. It’s time for change, it’s time to make the people who are causing this suffering to understand that they work for us and we have had enough.

12 comments

  1. jimnarlene

    I have fulfilled one of those objectives, today. I handed over a bag of messages to the collectors at my local foodbank (that is a hard thing to write down; “my local food bank” ffs), it truly is a condemnable slight on the peoples of this country that, we ” need” foodbanks.

    As for the other objective, I will be voting SNP.

  2. grumpyscottishman

    Jim

    It really is unreal that the Trussell Trust are reporting what they are in a country as wealthy as this, and we have a Government who still deny that changes to social security are the cause of many of the problems. Like you I will be voting SNP next May. I re-joined the party and while I continue to see them as a means to an end, they are the only real hope as far as politics goes in this country right now. My natural home would be the Liberal Democrats but as we all know there isn’t a Liberal party in this country anymore, there hasn’t been for 30 years so the SNP it is. I’m at the supermarker today so was thinking if there are any deals for selection boxes would get a few and pop in the foodbank trolley, might bring a wee smile to a kiddy, every little helps.

    Thanks for commenting.

    Bruce

  3. hektorsmum

    A good point Bruce I shall also do so. The selection boxes are also a good idea. Some Kinder surprise eggs as well as the kids get a wee toy. Makes me absolutely furious. I want to surcharge all those who voted NO. I was sort of hoping against hope we could get rid of these “bleeding ” things.

    • Anonymous

      hektorsmum

      I was at the supermarket this morning and spoke to the volunteer who asked that I get cereal as they were running low in Dundee of that so I got a few boxes and will get selection boxes when I get paid at the end of the week. Makes my blood boil too. Think the MPs in the three tory parties give a shit, I think not. IDS who has admitted his reforms are a total shambles should be in jail for what he has done.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Bruce

  4. jimnarlene

    For the life of me, I never considered cereal, I will remedy this; with perhaps UHT milk; in case refrigeration is a non- starter (in this day and age, it should be a right).

    • grumpyscottishman

      Jim

      It breaks your heart doesn’t it and people like IDS can claim £39 a day for their breakfast at Westminster and do. I’m having an angry week and no doubt it will get worse tomorrow with the publication of the Smith Commission Proposals, I suspect we will all be unhappy and even more unhappy when English MPs vote against and who can blame them. I hate this UK right now I really do.

      Thanks for commenting .

      Bruce

      • jimnarlene

        Gave more to the foodbank today, cereal and UHF milk included.
        Advent calendars and selection boxes to follow, I’m no millionaire but I have a conscience. Unlike our imperial masters.

          • Anonymous

            Jim

            That is really kind, I’ll do the same the next time I am in. I don’t have much to give but every little bit helps. Just got my road tax and it makes you realise how ripped off we are in this country as a car is a must for me for work.

            Thanks for commenting.

            Bruce

            • jimnarlene

              I know where you’re coming from, just had tax Arlene’s car. A 14 year old Passat and I drive an 18 year old transporter. I’m a bricklayer and Arlene is a trucker, the way things are we are really “zero hour” contractors. Both vehicles are for work, though I have made the van in to a budget camper, bit rough round the edges but, it makes our summer holidays (long weekends and punk festivals) possible.

              • Anonymous

                Jim

                It’s not easy. I’m a Community Worker with wife at University doing a masters that we get no help with. 3 kids, 1 at Uni, 1 applying for Uni and an 8 year old. Not easy but we get through the month without owing anyone so can’t complain but no pay rise in 5 years has taken it’s toll like it has for all of us. MPs and the Miliband of the world doing ok thought, that’s all that matters for no voters.

                Oh Rock Fan but did like the Stiff Little Fingers lol.

                Thanks for commenting.
                Bruce

                • jimnarlene

                  I did an honours degree at Paisley uni, years ago, in the hope of a better future; so I know how hard that is.

                  Nothing wrong with a bit of rock, it’s all rock really; with different levels of roll.
                  Not too keen on the boy/girl band type of stuff, talent less regurgitate of what’s gone before.

Leave a Reply

